• Sponsors  

2020 Teachers of the Year

  • Lisa Gill

    iAcademy at Athens Elementary 


    Kristen Tippee

    FAME Academy at Brookhill


    Cindy Smith

    SPARK Academy at Cowart


    Synthia Howell

    HEART Academy at Julian Newman 


    Shane Leopard

    Athens Intermediate School


    Nick Looney

    Athens Middle School


    Chief James Chambers

    Athens High School


    Mollie Bounds

    Athens Renaissance School

  • 5th Annual Teacher of the Year Recognition Event

    Truly great teachers seek to inspire hope, ignite the imagination and instill a love of learning. Then they wrap all that inspiration up in the warmth of genuine passion for this most noble profession. Our community and students are fortunate to have schools filled to capacity with truly great teachers. 


    From among the halls filled with outstanding teachers, nominations are made. Each school selects a Teacher of the Year.


    A district-wide committee then selects one elementary and one secondary Teacher of the Year to represent Athens City Schools at the state competition. The selection committee is made up of five members, including the superintendent of schools, one member of the Board of Education, two Teacher of the Year winners from the previous year, and one parent-at-large from the Athens City Schools system. The selection process is anonymous and meritocratic.


    The 2020 Teachers of the Year were announced in October. Due to the public health crisis caused by COVID, we cannot safely celebrate our Teachers of the Year with our usual Gratitude Banquet gathering. However, we remain committed to recognizing our Teachers of the Year. We will celebrate them on December 17 at the Athens City Schools Board of Education meeting on the main campus of Athens Renaissance School. We will hold a special awards presentation for the Teachers of the Year and announce the district secondary and district elementary Teachers of the Year at the board meeting.


    Special thanks to the Athens News-Courier for publishing the Teacher of the Year series spotlighting each school winner and sharing this honor with the community. We are grateful.